

State of New York Division of Housing and Community Renewal Office of Rent Administration Gertz Plaza 92-31 Union Hall Street Jamaica, New York 11433

Jamaica, New York 11433 Web Site: www.hcr.ny.gov Revision Date: January 2024

New York City LEASE Rider For Rent Stabilized Tenants

FAILURE BY AN OWNER TO ATTACH A COPY OF THIS RIDER TO THE TENANT'S LEASE WITHOUT CAUSE MAY RESULT IN A FINE OR OTHER SANCTIONS

NOTICE

This Rider, with this Notice, must be attached to all vacancy and renewal leases for rent stabilized apartments. This Rider was prepared pursuant to Section 26-511(d) of the New York City Rent Stabilization Law.

This Rider must be in a print size larger than the print size of the lease to which the Rider is attached. The following language must appear in bold print upon the face of each lease: "ATTACHED RIDER SETS FORTH RIGHTS AND OBLIGATIONS OF TENANTS AND LANDLORDS UNDER THE RENT STABILIZATION LAW."

This Rider has been updated to reflect the changes made by the Housing Stability and Tenant Protection Act of 2019.

Section 1 (If this is a renewal lease, do not complete Section 1, go to Section 2)

If Box A is checked, the owner **MUST** show how the rental amount provided for in such vacancy lease has been computed above the previous legal regulated rent by completing the following chart. In addition, the owner **MUST** complete the Notice To Tenant Disclosure of Bedbug Infestation History, as required by the NYC Housing Maintenance Code Section 27-2018.1, which is required to be served on the tenant with this Lease Rider.

ANY INCREASE ABOVE THE PREVIOUS LEGAL REGULATED RENT MUST BE IN ACCORDANCE WITH ADJUSTMENTS PERMITTED BY THE RENT LAWS and RENT STABILIZATION CODE.

VACANCY LEASE RENT CALCULATION

Status of Apartment and Last Tenant (Owner to Check and Complete Appropriate Box - (A), (B), (C), or (D). Choose only one.)

(A) This apartment was rent stabilized when the last tenant moved out.

| Address: A | | .pt.# | |
|------------|--|-------|--|
| 1. | Previous Legal Regulated Rent | \$ | |
| 2. | Guideline adjustment based on (1 year) or (2 year) lease. Circle one. (%) (Note: For vacancy leases, a guideline adjustment can only be taken once per calendar year.) | \$ | |
| 2 | T. T. T. A. A. A. T. | | |

3. Individual Apartment Improvements (IAI)

In order to collect rent increase for the IAI, you MUST complete the itemized list below and enter the increase in Line 3-G (below).

Tenant Request for Documentation

Check the box if you want to request at this time, from the owner, copies of documentation (e.g., bills, invoices, cancelled checks, etc.) that clarify and support the individual apartment improvement(s) cost detailed in this rider. If you do not request it now, you have the lawful right to request it within 60 days of the execution of the lease, by certified mail and the owner must then provide the documentation within 30 days either by certified mail or by personal delivery with a signed acknowledgement receipt by tenant. (Refer to Rider Section 3, Provision 4 - Other Rent Increases, Individual Apartment Improvements.)

RA-LR1 (1/24) Page 1 of 12

Individual Apartment Improvements (IAI)

NOTE: Before completing this section, refer to the IAI limitations described in Section 3 - Provision 4 of this document.

Items

| | Complete Renovation (if this box is checked you are not required to che | ck individual items) | |
|---------------|--|----------------------|--|
| | OR | | |
| | Individual Items (check all applicable items) | | |
| | Sink | | |
| | Shower Body | | |
| | Toilet | | |
| | Tub | | |
| | Plumbing | | |
| | Cabinets | | |
| | Vanity | | |
| | Floors and/or Wall Tiles | | |
| | Other (describe) | | |
| | Total Costs for Parts and | Labor 3-A. | |
| 3-B. <u>K</u> | Litchen Renovation (check all applicable items) | | |
| | Complete Renovation (if this box is checked you are not required to checked OR | ck individual items) | |
| | Individual Items (check all applicable items) | | |
| | Sink | | |
| | Stove | | |
| | Refrigerator | | |
| | Dishwasher | | |
| | Cabinets | | |
| | Plumbing | | |
| | Floors and/or Wall Tiles | | |
| | Countertops | | |
| | Other (describe) | | |
| | Total Costs for Parts and | Labor 3-B. | |
| 3-C. <u>O</u> | Other (check all applicable items) | | |
| | Doors | | |
| | Windows | | |
| | Radiators | | |
| | Light Fixtures | | |
| | Electrical Work | | |
| | Sheetrock | | |
| | Other (describe) | | |
| | Total Costs for Parts and | Labor 3-C. | |
| D. Subi | total Costs for Parts and Labor (sum of 3-A, 3-B and 3-C) | 3-D. | |
| | | | |
| | al Costs for Parts and Labor for Prior IAIs Collected on or after cluding 3-D) | 6/14/19 3-E | |
| F. Calc | ulating the allowable IAI increase for this installation: \$15,000 – 3-E | 3-F | |
| | | | |

Note: 1/168th if the building has 35 or fewer units. 1/180th if the building is over 35 units.

RA-LR1 (1/24) Page 2 of 12

| | 4. New Legal Regulated Rent (sum of 1, 2 and 3 | 3-G) \$ | | | | |
|---|---|------------------------------|---------------------------------|--|--|--|
| | 4A. Preferential Rent* or Higher Actual Rent** | (if charged) \$ | \$ | | | |
| | | | (enter 4 or 4A) | | | |
| | 5. Air Conditioner Surcharges: | | \$ | | | |
| | 6. Appliance Surcharges (Tenant-installed wash | er, dryer, dishwasher) | \$ | | | |
| | 7. Ancillary Services charged (e.g., garage) | | \$ | | | |
| | 8. Other (specify |) | \$ | | | |
| | 9. New Tenant's Total Payment | | \$ | | | |
| _ | referential rent" is being charged, please read Proigher actual rent" is being charged, authorized by | | ease read Provision #14 of this | | | |
| (B) This apartment was Rent Controlled at the time the last tenant moved out. This tenant is to rent stabilized tenant and the rent agreed to and stated in the lease to which this Rider is a substituted stabilized tenant becomes a market rent to the first rent stabilized first rent charged to the first rent stabilized tenant becomes the initial legal regulated rent under the rent stabilization system. However, if the tenant has reason to believe that this refair market rent", the tenant may file a "Fair Market Rent Appeal" with DHCR. The own give the tenant notice, on DHCR Form RR-1, of the right to file such an appeal. The notice by certified mail. A tenant only has 90 days, after such notice was mailed to the tenant by certified mail, to file an appeal. Otherwise, the rent set forth on the registration form becone legal regulated rent. | | | | | | |
| (C) | The rent for this apartment is an Initial or Restr | uctured Rent pursuant to a C | Government Program. | | | |
| | (Specify Program |) | \$ | | | |
| (D) | Other_ | | ¢. | | | |
| (D) | (For example: New apartment/first rent or Com | | \$ Sheet #5) | | | |
| | Section 2 – This section needs to be con | | | | | |
| Lease Ri | ider for the housing accommodation: | | | | | |
| (Print Ho | ousing Accommodation's Address and Apartment | Number) | | | | |
| Lease St | | | | | | |
| | art Date:ated: | | | | | |
| | ant named in the lease hereby acknowledges the coaccommodation stated above. | ontemporaneous receipt of t | he above lease rider for the | | | |
| | | Print Nan | ne of Tenant(s) | | | |
| | | Signatur | re(s) and Date | | | |
| | | | | | | |
| is hereby | to penalties provided by law, the owner of the hour contemporaneously provided to the tenant with the terein is true and accurate based on its records. | the signing of the lease and | • | | | |
| | | Print Name of Ov | vner or Owner's Agent | | | |
| | | Signati | are and Date | | | |

RA-LR1 (1/24) Page 3 of 12

Section 3 - PROVISIONS

INTRODUCTION:

This Rider is issued by the New York State Division of Housing and Community Renewal ("DHCR"), pursuant to the Rent Stabilization Law ("RSL") and Rent Stabilization Code ("RSC"). It generally informs tenants and owners about their basic rights and responsibilities under the RSL.

This Rider does not contain every rule applicable to rent stabilized apartments. It is only informational and its provisions are not part of and do not modify the lease. However, it must be attached as an addendum to the lease. It does not otherwise replace or modify more exact or complete sections of the RSL, the RSC, any order of DHCR or other government agency authorized to fix rents, or any order of the New York City Rent Guidelines Board that govern this tenancy. The owner must comply with all applicable state, federal and local fair housing laws and nondiscrimination requirements.

The Appendix lists organizations which can provide assistance to tenants and owners who have inquiries, complaints or requests relating to subjects covered in this Rider.

Tenants should keep a copy of this Rider and of any lease they sign and carefully review the summary of lawful rent increases described. Any tenant who believes that the rent they are being charged may be unlawful may consider requesting a rent history of their apartment from DHCR (www.hcr.ny.gov). After reviewing the rent history, the tenant can make an informed decision whether to file form RA-89 "Tenant's Complaint of Rent and/or Other Specific Overcharges in a Rent Stabilized Apartment."

1. RENEWAL LEASES

The owner is entitled to increase the rent when a tenant renews a lease ("renewal lease"). Each year, effective October 1, the New York City Rent Guidelines Board sets the percentage of maximum permissible adjustment over the immediately preceding September 30th rent for leases which will begin during the year for which the guidelines order is in effect. The date a lease starts determines which guidelines order applies.

Guidelines orders provide increases for Renewal Leases. The renewing tenant has the choice of the length of the lease. Different percentages are set for rent increases for leases of one or two years. For additional information see DHCR Fact Sheet #26.

2. VACANCY LEASES

The owner is entitled to increase the previous legal regulated rent when a new tenant enters into a lease for the first time and this is referred to as a vacancy lease. The tenant may choose between a one or two-year lease term. The allowable adjustment is set by the Rent Guidelines Board. However, no more than one guideline board adjustment may be added per calendar year. Lawful Major Capital Improvement and Individual Apartment Improvements may also be added to the rent.

3. SECURITY DEPOSITS

An owner may collect a security deposit no greater than one month's rent. When the rent is increased, the owner may charge an additional amount to bring the security deposit up to the full amount of the increased rent to which the owner is entitled. If a preferential rent is being charged, the amount of the security deposit collected can be no higher than the preferential rent.

A security deposit must be deposited in an interest bearing trust account in a banking organization in New York State. The tenant has the option of applying the interest to the rent, leaving the interest in the bank or receiving the interest annually. For additional information see DHCR Fact Sheet #9.

4. OTHER RENT INCREASES

In addition to guideline increases, the rent may be permanently increased based upon the following:

(A) Individual Apartment Improvements (IAI) – When an owner installs a new appliance or makes an improvement to an apartment the owner may be entitled to an IAI rent Increase. Tenant written consent for the improvement and rent increase is only required if the apartment is occupied by a tenant. It is not required for a vacant apartment.

In buildings with 35 units or less, the increase is limited to 1/168th of the cost of the improvement. In buildings with more than 35 units, the increase is limited to 1/180th of the cost of the improvement.

RA-LR1 (1/24) Page 4 of 12

No more than three IAI increases can be collected in a 15-year period and the total cost of the improvements eligible for a rent increase calculation cannot exceed \$15,000. Work must be done by a licensed contractor and there is a prohibition on common ownership between the contractor and the owner. The apartment must be free and clear of any outstanding hazardous and immediately hazardous violations. The written consent provided by the tenant in occupancy must be on a DHCR form. A translated version in the top 12 languages spoken other than English will be made available for review on the DHCR website. Owners are required to maintain supporting documentation and photographs for all IAI installations, which commencing June 14, 2020 will be submitted to and stored by DHCR in an electronic format. The IAI rent increase is temporary, as it must be removed from the rent in 30 years and the legal rent must be adjusted at that time for guideline adjustments that were previously compounded on a rent that included the IAI.

The DHCR Lease Rider offered to vacancy lease tenants contain notification to the tenant of the right to request from the owner by certified mail Individual Apartment Improvements (IAI's) supporting documentation at the time the lease is offered or within 60 days of the execution of the lease. The owner shall provide such documentation within 30 days of that request in person or by certified mail. A tenant who is not provided with that documentation upon demand may file form RA-90 "Tenant's Complaint of Owner's Failure to Renew Lease and/or Failure to Furnish a copy of a Signed Lease" to receive a DHCR Order that directs the furnishing of the IAI supporting documentation. (Refer to Rider Section 1, Individual Apartment Improvements.)

(B) Major Capital Improvements (MCI) – An owner is permitted a rental increase for building-wide major capital improvements, such as the replacement of a boiler or new plumbing. Major Capital Improvement rent increases are prohibited in buildings that contain 35% or fewer rent regulated apartments. The owner must file an application with DHCR and all supporting documentation is audited.

DHCR may issue an order denying the increase or granting it in part or in whole and serve the order on the owner and all tenants in the building. The rent increase approved in the DHCR order is collectible prospectively, on the first day of the first month 60 days after issuance. There are no retroactive rent increases. The collection of the increase is limited to a 2% cap/yearly phase-in. The 2% cap also applies to MCI rent increases not yet collected that were approved on or after June 14, 2012. Upon vacancy, the remaining balance of the increase can be added to the legal rent. In buildings with 35 or fewer units, the cost is amortized over a 12-year period. In buildings with more than 35 units, the cost is amortized over 12½ years. The building must be free and clear of any outstanding hazardous and immediately hazardous violations. The MCI rent increase is temporary and it must be removed from the rent in 30 years and the legal rent must be adjusted at that time for guideline adjustments that were previously compounded on a rent that included the MCI rent increase.

Vacancy lease tenants are to be notified in their lease about pending MCI applications.

- **(C) Hardship** An owner may apply to increase the rents of all rent stabilized apartments based on hardship when:
 - 1. the rents are not sufficient to enable the owner to maintain approximately the same average annual net income for a current three-year period as compared with the annual net income which prevailed on the average over the period 1968 through 1970, or for the first three years of operation if the building was completed since 1968, or for the first three years the owner owned the building if the owner cannot obtain records for the years 1968-1970; or
 - 2. where the annual gross rental income does not exceed the annual operating expenses by a sum equal to at least 5% of such gross income.

If an application for a rent increase based on a major capital improvement or hardship is granted, the owner may charge the increase during the term of an existing lease only if the lease contains a clause specifically authorizing the owner to do so.

5. RENT REGISTRATION

(A) Initial

An owner must register an apartment's rent and services with DHCR when the building first becomes subject to the RSL and in adherence to any related regulatory agreements and/or tax benefit programs.

(B) Annual

The annual registration must be filed with DHCR no earlier than April 1st of each year. At the time of such filing, the owner must provide each tenant with the tenant's copy.

RA-LR1 (1/24) Page 5 of 12

(C) Penalties

Failure to register in a timely manner shall result in penalties, rent reductions, and other remedies as permitted by law.

6. RENEWAL LEASES

A tenant has a right to a renewal lease, with certain exceptions (see Provision 10 of this Rider, "When An Owner May Refuse To Renew A Lease").

At least 90 days and not more than 150 days before the expiration of a lease, the owner is required to notify the tenant in writing that the lease will soon expire. That notice must also offer the tenant the choice of a one or two-year lease at the permissible guidelines adjustment. After receiving the notice, the tenant always has 60 days to accept the owner's offer, whether or not the offer is made within the above time period, or even beyond the expiration of the lease term.

Any renewal lease, except for the amount of rent and duration of its term, is required to be on the same terms and conditions as the expired lease, and a fully executed copy of the same must be provided to the tenant within 30 days from the owner's receipt of the renewal lease or renewal form signed by the tenant. If the owner does not return a copy of such fully executed Renewal Lease Form to the tenant within 30 days of receiving the signed renewal lease from the tenant, the tenant is responsible for payment of the new lease rent and may file a "Tenant's Complaint of Owner's Failure to Renew Lease and/or Failure to Furnish a Copy of a Signed Lease" (DHCR Form RA-90). DHCR shall order the owner to furnish the copy of the renewal lease or form. If the owner does not comply within 20 days of such order, the owner shall not be entitled to collect a rent guideline adjustment until the lease or form is provided.

It is illegal for an owner to require a rent stabilized tenant to provide immigration status information or a Social Security number as a condition to renewing the lease. (For additional information on the rights of foreign-born tenants see DHCR Fact Sheet #45.)

If a tenant wishes to remain in occupancy beyond the expiration of the lease, the tenant may not refuse to sign a proper renewal lease. If the tenant does refuse to sign a proper renewal lease, he or she may be subject to an eviction proceeding.

An owner may add to a renewal lease the following clauses even if such clauses were not included in the tenant's prior lease:

- (A) the rent may be adjusted by the owner on the basis of Rent Guidelines Board or DHCR Orders or orders of other government agencies authorized to fix rents;
- (B) if the owner or the lease grants permission to sublet or assign, the owner may charge a sublet allowance for a sub-tenant or assignee, provided the prime lease is a renewal lease. However, this sublet allowance may be charged even if such clause is not added to the renewal lease. (Subletting is discussed in Provision 9 of this Rider);
- (C) (1) if the building in which the apartment is located is receiving 421-a (1-15) tax benefits, a clause may be added providing for an annual or other periodic rent increase over the initial rent at an average rate of not more than 2.2 % of the amount of such initial rent per annum not to exceed nine 2.2 percent increases. Such charge shall not become part of the legal regulated rent; however, the cumulative 2.2 percent increases charged prior to the termination of tax benefits may continue to be collected as a separate charge;
 - (2) provisions for rent increases if authorized under Section 423 of the Real Property Tax Law: a clause may be added to provide for an annual or other periodic rent increase over the legal regulated rent if authorized by Section 423 of the Real Property Tax Law.

7. RENEWAL LEASE SUCCESSION RIGHTS

In the event that the tenant has permanently vacated the apartment at the time of the renewal lease offer, family members who have lived with the tenant in the apartment as a primary residence for at least two years immediately prior to such permanent vacating (one year for family members who are senior citizens and disabled persons), or from the inception of the tenancy or commencement of the relationship, if for less than such periods, are entitled to a renewal lease. A tenant shall be considered to have permanently vacated the apartment when the tenant has permanently ceased residing in the apartment.

"Family Member" includes the spouse, son, daughter, stepson, stepdaughter, father, mother, stepfather, stepmother, brother, sister, grandfather, grandmother, grandson, granddaughter, father-in-law, mother-in-law, son-in-law or daughter-in-law of the tenant.

RA-LR1 (1/24) Page 6 of 12

"Family member" may also include any other person living with the tenant in the apartment as a primary residence who can prove emotional and financial commitment and interdependence between such person and the tenant. Examples of evidence which is considered in determining whether such emotional and financial commitment and interdependence existed are set forth in the Rent Stabilization Code. Renewal lease succession rights are also discussed in detail in DHCR Fact Sheet #30.

8. SERVICES

Written notification to the owner or managing agent should be given but is **NOT** required, before filing a decrease in service complaint with DHCR. Owners who have not received prior written notification from the tenant will however, be given additional time to respond to a complaint filed with DHCR. Applications based on a lack of heat or hot water must be accompanied by a report from the appropriate city agency.

All emergency conditions do not require prior written notification. These include but are not limited to: vacate order (5 day notification), fire (5 day notification), no water apartment wide, no operable toilet, collapsed or collapsing ceiling or walls, collapsing floor, no heat/hot water apartment wide (violation required), broken or inoperative apartment front door lock, all elevators inoperable, no electricity apartment wide, window to fire escape (does not open), water leak (cascading water, soaking electrical fixtures), window-glass broken (not cracked), broken/unusable fire escapes, air conditioner broken (summer season). Complaints to DHCR on the appropriate DHCR form that cite any of these emergency conditions will be treated as first priority and will be processed as quickly as possible. It is recommended that tenants use a separate DHCR form for any problematic conditions that are not on this emergency condition list.

Certain conditions, examples of which are set forth in the Rent Stabilization Code, which have only a minimal impact on tenants, do not affect the use and enjoyment of the premises, and may exist despite regular maintenance of services. These conditions do not rise to the level of a failure to maintain required services. The passage of time during which a disputed service was not provided without complaint may be considered in determining whether a condition is de minimis. For this purpose, the passage of 4 years or more will be considered presumptive evidence that the condition is de minimis.

The amount of any rent reduction ordered by DHCR shall be reduced by any credit, abatement or offset in rent which the tenant has received pursuant to Sec. 235-b of the Real Property Law ("Warranty of Habitability") that relates to one or more conditions covered by the DHCR Order. For additional information see DHCR Fact Sheets #3, #14 and #37.

9. SUBLETTING AND ASSIGNMENT

A tenant has the right to sublet his/her apartment, even if subletting is prohibited in the lease, provided that the tenant complies strictly with the provisions of Real Property Law Section 226-b. Tenants who do not comply with these requirements may be subject to eviction proceedings. Compliance with Section 226-b is not determined by DHCR, but by a court of competent jurisdiction. If a tenant in occupancy under a renewal lease sublets his/her apartment, the owner may temporarily increase the rent by the current rent guidelines board adjustment, regardless of whether the owner has increased the rent by the guidelines board amount within the prior twelve months. This charge may be passed on to the sub-tenant. However, upon termination of the sublease, the Legal Regulated Rent shall revert to the Legal Regulated Rent without such temporary increase. The rent increase is the allowance provided by the NYC Rent Guidelines Board available when the tenant's lease commenced, and it takes effect when the subletting takes place.

A tenant who sublets his/her apartment is entitled to charge the sub-tenant the rent permitted under the Rent Stabilization Law, and may charge a 10% surcharge payable to the tenant only if the apartment sublet is fully furnished. Where the tenant charges the sub-tenant any additional rent above such surcharge and sublet allowance, if applicable, the tenant shall be required to pay to the sub-tenant a penalty of three times the rent overcharge, and may also be required to pay interest and attorney's fees. The tenant may also be subject to an eviction proceeding.

Assignment of Leases

In an assignment, a tenant transfers the entire remainder of his or her lease to another person (the assignee), and gives up all of his/her rights to reoccupy the apartment.

Pursuant to the provisions of Real Property Law Section 226-b, a tenant may not assign his/her lease without the written consent of the owner, unless the lease expressly provides otherwise. If the owner consents to the assignment of the lease, the owner may increase the rent as if the assignee was entering into a new lease following permanent vacancy. Such increase shall remain part of the Legal Regulated Rent for any subsequent renewal lease. An owner is not required to have reasonable grounds to refuse to consent to the assignment. However, if the owner unreasonably refuses consent, the owner must release the tenant from the remainder of the lease, if the tenant, upon 30 days' notice to the owner, requests to be released.

RA-LR1 (1/24) Page 7 of 12

If the owner refuses to consent to an assignment and does have reasonable grounds for withholding consent, the tenant cannot assign and the owner is not required to release the tenant from the lease. For additional information see, DHCR Fact Sheet #7.

10. WHEN AN OWNER MAY REFUSE TO RENEW A LEASE

As long as a tenant pays the lawful rent to which the owner is entitled, the tenant, except for the specific grounds stated in the Rent Stabilization Law and Rent Stabilization Code, is entitled to remain in the apartment. An owner may not harass a tenant by engaging in an intentional course of conduct intended to make the tenant move from his/her apartment.

Below are listed some but not all grounds for eviction:

Without DHCR consent, the owner may refuse to renew a lease and bring an eviction action in Civil Court at the expiration of the lease on any of the following grounds:

- (A) the tenant refuses to sign a proper renewal lease offered by the owner;
- (B) the owner, because of immediate and compelling necessity, seeks to recover the apartment in good faith for personal use and occupancy as a primary residence or for the personal use and occupancy as a primary residence of members of the owner's immediate family; Note that the owner is only permitted to do this for one apartment in a building subject to regulation.
- (C) the tenant does not occupy the apartment as his or her primary residence. The owner must notify the tenant in writing at least 90 and not more than 150 days prior to the expiration of the lease term of the owner's intention not to renew the lease. However, the rent regulations and the Social Services Law provide added protection for victims of domestic violence.

With DHCR consent, the owner may refuse to renew a lease upon any of the following grounds:

- (A) the owner seeks in good faith to recover possession of the apartment for the purpose of demolishing the building and constructing a new building; or
- (B) the owner requires the apartment or the land for the owner's own use in connection with a business which the owner owns and operates.

A tenant will be served with a copy of the owner's application and has a right to object. If the owner's application is granted, the owner may bring an eviction action in Civil Court.

11. EVICTION WHILE THE LEASE IS IN EFFECT

The owner may bring an action in Civil Court to evict a tenant during the term of the lease for the grounds stated in the Rent Stabilization Law and Rent Stabilization Code.

Below are listed some but not all grounds for eviction:

- (A) does not pay rent;
- (B) is violating a substantial obligation of the tenancy;
- (C) is committing or permitting a nuisance;
- (D) is illegally using or occupying the apartment;
- (E) has unreasonably refused the owner access to the apartment for the purpose of making necessary repairs or improvements required by law or authorized by DHCR, or for the purpose of inspection or showing. The tenant must be given at least 5 days' notice of any such inspection or showing, to be arranged at the mutual convenience of the tenant and owner, so to enable the tenant to be present at the inspection or showing. A tenant cannot be required to permit access for inspection or showing if such requirement would be contrary to the lease.

Tenants are cautioned that causing violations of health, safety, or sanitation standards of housing maintenance laws, or permitting such violations by a member of the family or of the household or by a guest, may be the basis for a court action by the owner.

RA-LR1 (1/24) Page 8 of 12

12. COOPERATIVE AND CONDOMINIUM CONVERSION

Tenants who do not purchase their apartments under a Non-Eviction Conversion Plan continue to be protected by Rent Stabilization. Conversions are regulated by the New York State Attorney General. Any cooperative or condominium conversion plan accepted for filing by the New York State Attorney General's Office will include specific information about tenant rights and protections. An informational booklet about the general subject of conversion is available from the New York State Attorney General's Office.

13. SENIOR CITIZENS AND DISABILITY RENT INCREASE EXEMPTION PROGRAM

Tenants or their spouses who are 62 years of age, or older, or are persons with a disability, and whose household income level does not exceed the established income level may qualify for an exemption from guideline adjustments, hardship rent increases, major capital improvement rent increases and rent reductions for DHCR approved electrical sub-metering conversions. This exemption will only be for a portion of the increase which causes the tenant's rent to exceed one-third of the "net" household income, and is not available for increases based on new services or equipment within the apartment. Questions concerning the Senior Citizen Rent Increase Exemption (SCRIE) program and the Disability Rent Increase Exemption (DRIE) program can be addressed to the New York City Department of Finance.

When a senior citizen or person with a disability is granted a rent increase exemption, the owner may obtain a real estate tax credit from New York City equal to the amount of the tenant's exemption. Notwithstanding any of the above, a senior citizen or person with a disability who receives a rent increase exemption is still required to pay a full month's rent as a security deposit. For additional information see DHCR Fact Sheet #20 and #21.

14. SPECIAL CASES AND EXCEPTIONS

Some special rules relating to stabilized rents and required services may apply to newly constructed buildings subject to regulatory agreement and/or which receive tax abatement or exemption, and to buildings rehabilitated under certain New York City, New York State, federal financing, mortgage insurance programs, or project based vouchers. The supervising government agency that sets initial legal rents may also set preferential rents. Regulatory agreements issued and approved by a state or municipal agency or other designated party may provide for actual rents that are higher than legal rents and preferential rents, as long as a government program provides rental assistance for the apartment. The tenant share is governed by the agency providing rental assistance and the regulatory agreement. The actual rent must also be separately registered. When the rental assistance ends, either during a tenancy or upon vacancy, the lesser of the lower legal rent or preferential rent plus any lawful adjustments or a lower rent established by the regulatory agreement must be charged. This requirement is stated in plain language in DHCR Notice RA-LR3, which must be attached to all leases when higher actual rents are being charged. The rules mentioned in this Rider do not necessarily apply to rent stabilized apartments located in hotels or permanent housing accommodations with government contracted services to vulnerable individuals or individuals with disabilities who are or were homeless or at risk of homelessness. A separate Hotel Rights Notice informing permanent hotel tenants and owners of their basic rights and responsibilities under the Rent Stabilization Law is available from DHCR.

15. AIR CONDITIONER SURCHARGES

Owners are authorized to collect surcharges from rent stabilized tenants for the use of air conditioners. DHCR issues an annual update to an Operational Bulletin in which the lawful surcharges are established for the year. A surcharge amount is established for tenants in buildings where electricity is included in the rent. These surcharges shall not become part of the legal regulated rent. Surcharges for tenants in buildings where the tenant pays for the electric utility service are prohibited. (See Operational Bulletin 84-4 and Fact Sheet #27).

16. SURCHARGES FOR TENANT INSTALLED WASHING MACHINES, DRYERS AND DISHWASHERS

Unless a lease provides otherwise, owners are not required to allow tenants to install washing machines, dryers or dishwashers. Where a tenant requests permission from the owner to install such appliance or appliances, whether permanently installed or portable, and the owner consents, the owner may collect a surcharge or surcharges. DHCR issues periodic updates to an Operational Bulletin that sets forth surcharges for washing machines, dryers and dishwashers. One set of surcharges is established for tenants in buildings where electricity is included in the rent. Another set of surcharges is established for tenants who pay their own electricity. Such surcharges shall not become part of the rent. (See Operational Bulletin 2005-1).

17. PREFERENTIAL RENT

A preferential rent is a rent which an owner agrees to charge that is lower than the legal regulated rent that the owner could lawfully collect. The legal regulated rent is required to be written into the vacancy lease and all subsequent renewal leases in order to be preserved. The HSTPA effective June 14, 2019 while continuing to allow for both preferential and legal rents to be raised at the time of a lease renewal additionally requires that any preferential rent already being collected must continue to be offered at the time of a lease renewal. The rent increase to be collected at

RA-LR1 (1/24) Page 9 of 12

a lease renewal on the preferential rent must be set by applying the applicable guideline adjustment to the preferential rent. The legal rent cannot be collected until a vacancy occurs and can be offered to the next new vacancy lease tenant, provided that both the legal rent and the preferential rent are listed in the initial lease offering the preferential rent and every subsequent lease offering the preferential rent until the vacancy. Exceptions to these requirements may apply to preferential rents established by regulatory agreements.

18. LANGUAGE ACCESS

Copies of the Rider are available for <u>informational purposes only</u>, in languages required by DHCR's Language Access Plan and can be viewed at www.hcr.ny.gov. However, the Rider is required to be offered and executed in English only, at the issuance of a vacancy lease or renewal lease. The DHCR RTP-8 Renewal Lease Form is also required to be offered and executed in English only.

Copias de la Cláusula están disponibles con fines informativos en los idiomas requeridos por el Plan de Acceso Lingüístico de la DHCR y se pueden ver en www.hcr.ny.gov. Sin embargo, se requiere que la Cláusula se ofrezca y ejecute en inglés solamente, en la emisión de un contrato de arrendamiento por desocupación o contrato de renovación de arrendamiento. El Formulario del Contrato de Renovación de Arrendamiento RTP-8 de la DHCR también se debe ofrecer y ejecutar en inglés solamente.

Kopi Dokiman Siplemantè a disponib pou bay enfòmasyon sèlman, nan lang ki obligatwa dapre Plan Aksè nan Lang DHCR epi ou kapab wè yo sou sitwèb www.hcr.ny.gov. Men, yo fèt pou bay ak egzekite Dokiman Siplemantè a nan lang Anglè sèlman, lè y ap bay yon nouvo kontra lwaye oswa yon renouvèlman kontra lwaye. Pwopriyetè kayla gen obligasyon tou pou bay ak egzekite Fòm Renouvèlman Kontra Lwaye DHCR RTP-8 nan lang Anglè sèlman.

Copie della postilla sono disponibili per finalità esclusivamente informative nelle lingue previste dal Piano di assistenza linguistica (Language Access Plan) del DHCR e sono consultabili sul sito www.hcr.ny.gov. La postilla, tuttavia, va presentata e resa esecutiva solo in lingua inglese, alla stipula di un contratto di locazione di immobile libero o di rinnovo. Anche il modulo del contratto di rinnovo RTP-8 del DHCR va presentato e perfezionato solo in lingua inglese.

Копии данного Приложения доступны исключительно в информационных целях на языках, предусмотренных Программой языкового доступа (Language Access Plan) Жилищно-коммунальной администрации на сайте www.hcr.ny.gov. Однако настоящее Приложение должно быть предложено и подписано исключительно на английском языке при подписании вновь заключенного договора аренды или договора о продлении срока аренды. Форма продления срока аренды RTP-8 Жилищно-коммунальной администрации также должна быть предложена и подписана исключительно на английском языке.

附加條款副本僅供參考,其語言格式以 DHCR 「語言服務計畫」之規定為準,且可於 www.hcr.ny.gov 查看。不過,於交付空房租約或續期租約時,本附加條款之版本與履行效力仍以英文版為主。房東亦須提 供英文版的「DHCR RTP-8 續期租約表」,且履行效力同樣以英文版為主。

본 특약서의 사본은 DHCR의 언어 액세스 계획(Language Access Plan)에서 요구하는 언어로 <u>정보제공의 목적으로만</u> 제공되며, www.hcr.ny.gov 에서 볼 수 있습니다. 하지만 본 특약서는 공실 임대계약서 또는 갱신 임대 계약서 발행 시에 는 영어로만 제공 및 작성해야 합니다. DHCR RTP-8 갱신임대 계약서(Renewal Lease Form)도 영어로만 제공 및 작성해야 합니다.

ক্রোড়পত্রের কপি শুধু<u>মাত্র তথ্যমূলক উদ্দেশ্যের জন্য</u>, DHCR-এর ভাষা প্রবেশাধিকার পরিকল্পনায় প্রজনীয় ভাষাগুলোতে উপলব্ধ এবং www.hcr.ny.gov-এ দেখতে পাওয়া যেতে পারে। তবে, ক্রোড়পত্রটি একটি খালি জায়গা বা পুনর্নবীকরণ লিজ জারি করায়, শুধুমাত্র ইংরেজিতে প্রস্তাবিত ও সম্পন্ন করা প্রয়োজন। DHCR RTP-8 পুনর্নবীকরণ লিজ ফর্মও শুধুমাত্র ইংরেজিতে প্রস্তাবিত ও সম্পন্ন করা প্রয়োজন।

ס 'DHCR קאפיעס פונעם ריידער זענען אוועילעבל <u>בלויז פאר אינפארמאציע צוועקן,</u> אין שפראכן פארלאנגט דורך 'DHCR קאפיעס פונעם ריידער איז פארלאנגט צו ווערן שפראך צוטריט פלאן און קענען געזען ווערן אויף www.hcr.ny.gov. אבער, דער ריידער איז פארלאנגט צו ווערן אויף DHCR צוגעשטעלט און אויסגעפירט נאר אין ענגליש, ביים ארויסגעבן א וועיקענסי ליעס אדער באנייאונג ליעס. דער P-8 באנייאונג ליעס בויגן איז אויך פארלאנגט צו ווערן צוגעשטעלט און אויסגעפירט נאר אין ענגליש.

Kopie Aneksu są dostępne wyłącznie w <u>celach informacyjnych</u>, w językach wymaganych przez Plan Dostępu Językowego DHCR (DHCR's Language Access Plan) i można się z nimi zapoznać na stronie www.hcr.ny.gov. Wymaga się jednak, aby Aneks był oferowany i zawierany wyłącznie w języku angielskim, przy zawieraniu umowy najmu na czas nieokreślony lub przedłużaniu umowy najmu. Wymaga się, aby Formularz przedłużenia umowy najmu DHCR RTP-8 był również oferowany i zawierany wyłącznie w języku angielskim.

تتوفر نسخ من الملحق لأغراض تقديم المعلومات فقط، باللغات التي تتطلبها خطة الإتاحة اللغوية لشعبة الإسكان وتجديد المجتمع (DHCR) ومن الممكن عرضها من خلال الموقع www.hcr.ny.gov. ومع ذلك، يجب عرض الملحق واستكماله باللغة الإنجليزية فقط، عند إصدار عقد تأجير الشقة الشاغرة أو عقد تجديد الإيجار. يطلب أيضًا تقديم واستكمال نموذج عقد تجديد الإيجار 8-RTP لشعبة الإسكان وتجديد المجتمع (DHCR) باللغة الإنجليزية فقط.

Des copies de l'avenant sont disponibles à titre <u>d'information uniquement</u>, dans les langues requises par le Plan d'accès aux langues de la DHCR et peuvent être consultées sur www.hcr.ny.gov. Toutefois, l'avenant doit être proposé et signé en anglais uniquement, lors de la délivrance d'un bail vacant ou de renouvellement. Le formulaire de renouvellement de bail DHCR RTP-8 doit également être offert et signé en anglais uniquement.

RA-LR1 (1/24) Page 10 of 12

سوار کی کاپیاں DHCR کے لینگویج ایکسس پلان کے مطابق درکار زبانوں میں معلوماتی مقاصد کے لیے دستیاب ہیں اور www.hcr.ny.gov پر دیکھی جا سکتی ہیں۔ تاہم، رائیڈر کو صرف انگریزی میں، خالی لیز یا تجدید لیز کے اجراء پر پیش کش اور عمل درآمد کی ضرورت ہوتی ہے۔ DHCR RTP-8 تجدید لیز فارم کو بھی صرف انگریزی میں پیش کرنے اور انجام دینے کی ضرورت ہے۔

19. FEES

There are certain fees that owners may charge tenants separate and apart from the rent for the apartment. However, fees of any kind do not become part of the legal rent or preferential rent and cannot be added to it for the purpose of calculating lease renewal increases.

Lawful fees:

Late fees where a clause in the initial vacancy lease allows for them to be charged by a certain specific date and the late fees are no more than the lesser of \$50 or 5% of the monthly rent currently being charged and collected. Preferential rents, which may also be referred to as "on-time rent," that are conditioned on prompt payment of rent or terminate upon late payment of rent are not allowed.

Legal fees can only be collected if ordered by a judge in court.

Reasonable fees for a background check when applying to be a tenant which cannot exceed \$20 per tenant subject to the background check.

Fees for window guards (\$10 per guard) are detailed in DHCR Fact Sheet #25.

Fees for smoke alarms, carbon monoxide detectors and natural gas detectors are established by the local municipality.

Actual fees/charges incurred for insufficient funds for a tenant's rent check that did not clear (bounced checks), if this was provided for in the initial lease.

Fees imposed by the NYC agency (Ex-HPD, HDC) that has oversight authority pursuant to a regulatory agreement.

Fees for Air Conditioners and Tenant-installed Washing Machines, Dryers and Dishwashers are detailed in DHCR's Operational Bulletin 84-4, Fact Sheet #27, and DHCR Operational Bulletin 2005-1.

Fees for Sub-Metering or other utility services. Fees for Sub-Metering are detailed in DHCR Operational Bulletin 2014-1.

Unlawful Fees:

Fees for background checks on rent stabilized tenants in occupancy.

Fees cannot be charged to the tenant for a background check on a prospective roommate or additional family member.

Pet security deposit or fees proposed for a service animal or that are in violation of fair housing law.

Effective November 21, 2022, fees (surcharges) for tenant-installed air conditioning units if the tenant pays for the electric utility service.

Fees for owner installed air conditioner brackets are prohibited.

Fees including but not limited to damage fees, repair fees of any kind including those incurred for removal of municipal violations, painting fees, cleaning fees and other fees not established by or in excess of the amount allowed by the rent regulations or other municipal regulations are prohibited. Please note that the inappropriateness of imposing these fees through the lease may not necessarily prevent an owner from independently seeking other relief in court for objectionable conduct or damages.

The \$20 fee that must be paid by owners to the municipality for each stabilized apartment can not be passed along as a fee to the tenant.

Tenants who have been billed for fees and/or surcharges that they may believe are unlawful or untimely, have the right to file a complaint of rent overcharge on DHCR form RA-89 and/or pursue remedies in court.

RA-LR1 (1/24) Page 11 of 12

Appendix

Some agencies which can provide assistance

New York State Division of Housing and Community Renewal (DHCR)

DHCR is a state agency empowered to administer and enforce the Rent Laws. Tenants can contact DHCR at our website: www.hcr.ny.gov or by visiting one of our Public Information Offices listed below for assistance.

Oueens

92-31 Union Hall Street Jamaica, NY 11433

Lower Manhattan
25 Beaver Street

New York, NY 10004

Upper Manhattan 163 West 125th Street New York, NY 10027 Bronx

One Fordham Plaza Bronx, NY 10458

Brooklyn 55 Hanson Place

Brooklyn, NY 11217

Westchester

75 South Broadway White Plains, NY 10601

Attorney General of the State of New York - www.ag.ny.gov 120 Broadway, New York, NY 10271

Consumer Frauds and Protection Bureau

- investigates and enjoins illegal or fraudulent business practices, including the overcharging of rent and mishandling of rent security deposits by owners.

Real Estate Financing Bureau

- administers and enforces the laws governing cooperative and condominium conversions. Investigates complaints from tenants in buildings undergoing cooperative or condominium conversion concerning allegations of improper disclosure, harassment, and misleading information.

Various New York City Agencies such as Housing Preservation and Development, Finance and Buildings can be contacted at 311.

DHCR has approved this form and font size as in compliance with RSC section 2522.5(c).

RA-LR1 (1/24) Page 12 of 12